How Long Do Sex Offenders Have to Register in Texas?

If you are convicted of a sex crime in Texas, there is a high likelihood that you will be required to register as a sex offender once you are released from incarceration.

The purpose of the Texas Sex Offender Registration Program is to protect the public from those who have committed sex-related crimes. It does this by publicly publishing information about a convicted sex offender that includes their name, address, occupation, nature of their convictions, and other biographical information.

Those who are required to register as sex offenders must verify and update their record at least once per year. If someone was convicted of a sexually violent crime, they must go through this process every 90 days.

Sex Offender Registration is Required for at Least 10 Years

Unless someone is required to register as a sex offender in Texas for life, they must do so for 10 years. Again, this period doesn’t begin until the convicted person is released from incarceration, parole, or community service. Sex offender registration requirements don’t run concurrently with these other penalties.

Crimes that commonly lead to this basic sex offender registration requirement include the following:

  • A second offense of indecent exposure
  • Indecency with a child
  • Online solicitation of a minor
  • Prostitution (when the solicited person is younger than 18)

Lifetime Sex Offender Registration

Typically, sexually violent or particularly egregious sex crimes will be punished with a lifetime sex offender registration requirement.

These offenses can include the following:

  • Sexual assault
  • Sexual performance by a child
  • Possession or promotion of child pornography
  • Compelling prostitution of a minor
  • Unlawful restraint or aggravated kidnapping

Can I Reduce the Time I’m Required to Register as a Sex Offender?

If you are required to register as a sex offender for 10 years or even life, you may be able to eliminate the requirement. An individual risk assessment may be conducted to look into your criminal history and the likelihood that you would commit another sex crime or become a danger to the public.

If an individual risk assessment determines that you are eligible for early termination from sex offender registration requirements, a judge may grant your motion to do so and end the obligation.

Nothing Beats Avoiding the Sex Offender Registry in the First Place

Although there is some hope of coming off of the sex offender registry, the best course of action is to avoid it in the first place. When you are charged with a sex crime, leave nothing to chance – seek experienced and qualified legal counsel to help you beat your charges and avoid the consequences of being a convicted sex offender.

Learn more about how our legal team at Rodriguez & Gimbert, P.L.L.C. can help by contacting us online today.