Texas Marijuana Laws

In 2020, medical marijuana is legal in 33 states and recreational marijuana is legal in 11 states. However, Texas is not one of those states. 

Although medical marijuana is legal in the state, only people with epilepsy, ALS, Parkinson’s, or multiple sclerosis have access to cannabis oil, which has a THC potency of less than .05 percent. On the other hand, recreational marijuana is strictly prohibited. 

Possession of two (2) ounces or less of cannabis is a Class B misdemeanor, which carries a maximum jail term of 180 days and a fine not exceeding $2,000. Possession of between two (2) and four (4) ounces of pot is a Class A misdemeanor, which can lead to a jail sentence of up to one year and a maximum fine of $4,000. 

Possession of between four ounces and five (5) pounds of marijuana is a state jail felony, which can result in a state jail sentence between 180 days and two years and a fine of up to $10,000. Possession between five (5) and 50 pounds is a third-degree felony, which carries a maximum prison sentence of 10 years (with a mandatory minimum term of two years) and a fine no more than $10,000. 

Possession of between 50 and 2,000 pounds of pot is a second-degree felony, which can lead to imprisonment for up to 20 years (with a mandatory minimum of two years) and a maximum fine of $10,000. Possession of over 2,000 pounds is a first-degree felony, which carries either a life sentence or a prison term between five and 99 years, as well as a fine of $50,000. 

If you or a loved one has recently been arrested for marijuana possession or a drug crime in Bryan or College Station, contact Rodriguez & Gimbert, P.L.L.C. today and learn how we can help you.