Commercial truck drivers transport the majority of the country’s freight annually. Since these truckers are responsible for precious cargo every trip – and because the vehicles they drive are massive and potentially dangerous on the road – they must possess a commercial driver’s license (CDL) from the U.S. Department of Transportation and by a state.
Unfortunately, if a commercial driver gets arrested for a DWI in Texas, a conviction can result in both serious criminal penalties and penalties toward their CDL. In fact, commercial drivers can get arrested for drunk driving if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is at least .04 percent, rather than .08 percent for drivers of passenger vehicles.
A first DWI conviction can result in a one-year CDL suspension. However, if a commercial driver was transporting hazardous material at the time of the arrest, then the CDL suspension is increased to three years. A second conviction carries a lifetime ban on your CDL
The following are the other penalties for a first DWI conviction for commercial drivers in Texas:
Jail term of up to 180 days
Fines of up to $2,000
Other penalties such as community service and alcohol education classes
Not only do commercial drivers need their CDL to have a career, but they also need to support their families. Whether the suspension lasts one year or a lifetime, finding work can be difficult, especially with a DWI conviction on their criminal record.
If you are a commercial driver and you were recently arrested for DWI in Bryan or College Station, our legal team at Rodriguez & Gimbert, P.L.L.C. has more than 45 years of combined experience protecting the rights and freedom of our clients facing a wide array of DWI. Just because you were arrested, does not mean you are guilty, so let our firm take advantage of this opportunity to help you keep your license and career.
For more information about our knowledgeable and responsive legal services, contact us today at (979) 559-3599 to learn how we can fight for you.